stilland.blogg.se

Nas the lost tapes 2 review
Nas the lost tapes 2 review







I love “War Against Love!” While its roots are a bit cold, I thought the version of Nas you got on it was unchained, fearless and clever. Unlike “No Bad Energy,” I f**k with the energy we are given on this song for sure. On it, we are gifted to this classic Neptunes instrumental that evokes an aggressive version of Nas that is on some storytelling and hood empowerment s**t. Whatever the case may be, the Pharrell-produced “Vernon Family” is hip-hop gold. I thought the duo absolutely shined on songs like “Flyest Angel,” so I never understood why they didn’t link up more in the past. Nas and Pharrell’s history together was way too short-lived, to me. I would’ve sworn this was a Kanye West beat… On the real, what makes this song special is the animated/relentless approach Nas raps with on it, as it feels like he’s simply pouring out every piece of hood knowledge he has dislodged in his brain on his verses. “Lost Freestyle” is fantastic! With what I perceive to be a classic Statik Selektah Instrumental powering the song, Nas lets loose, rapping about everything from his trials and tribulations to the everyday lifestyle of a hustler. Personally, I love how the song balances this easy-going feel on the instrumental and highly melodic hook (By featured guest Swizz Beatz) with Nas’ very urgent raps on his verses.ĭamn, Nas sounds like me when I was going through puberty on this song.

nas the lost tapes 2 review

On it, Nas spits very rebelliously, caring less about what people think about his relationships, his stature as a boss, and his determination to grow as a person both mentally and physically. One of the greatest rappers of all-time gives us the left-overs off of his most recent albums on “Lost Tapes 2.”









Nas the lost tapes 2 review